Frank Lloyd Wright’s Rowing Boathouse

About This Project

Project Type: Construction of unbuilt Frank Lloyd Wright design

Square Footage: 6,000 sq. ft.

Project Scope and Concept: Originally designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in 1903, this project existed only on paper until 1999 when certain members of the West Side Rowing Club decided it would be an incredible asset for both the Club and the City of Buffalo. These club members formed a separate limited liability corporation and board dedicated to the purpose of constructing this building. After languishing for four years, HB Cornerstone was engaged in 2004 to assume the leadership responsibilities of moving the project forward. The design was managed closely with Frank Lloyd Wright’s last practicing apprentice, Mr. Anthony Putnam. The groundbreaking occurred in October 2006 and a grand opening of this truly unique facility occurred one year later. The building includes storage for up to 16 rowing shells, 160 sq. ft. of self-leveling rowing docks, a club room, observation decks, lockers and showers.

Services Provided: Owners representative, New York state and private funding support, program and design development, contract negotiations, total budget and schedule development, design and management of all “other contracts,” municipal approvals, construction supervision, and quality control.